Lakewood Home mostly destroyed by fire

The sound of fire trucks never seemed to stop while I was watching my sons baseball game at Lippold park. From where we were watching the baseball game we were 1.5 miles from the fire and could see the smoke. Our neighbor had just dropped her son off for his baseball game and told me that a home in Brighton Oaks located behind our homes, was on fire. I quickly headed back to see the action.

Upon my arrival no flames were to be seen, but the sight and smell of smoke lingered in the air. Fire trucks lined the street and firefighters were everywhere.

The six year old 3325 square foot two story home of Wayne and Karen Griffin sits on 1.27 acres at 5815 Hawthorn Lane, Lakewood, IL <-Google Satellite view. (Public record information)

The family had evacuated the house prior to the arrival of the fire department.

The cause of the fire had yet to be determined Wednesday night.

The three alarm fire was faught by  personnel from Crystal Lake Fire Department, Woodstock Fire Department, Nunda Rural Fire Protection District, Cary Fire Protection District, Marengo Fire Protection District, McHenry Township Fire Protection District, Wauconda Fire Department, Algonquin-Lake in the Hills Fire Protection District, Fox River Grove Fire Protection District and Huntley Fire Protection District also responded.

( I need to update my watermark for 2008 )

2 Responses

  1. My heart goes out to this family who have lost their home and most of their belongings. My thoughts and prayers are with them as they sift through the rubble.

  2. Ernie a guy at work told me there was pictures but i had know idea that it was your site.

Leave a comment